The best GEO tools in 2026, judged on the sources they show.
Generative engine optimization is about becoming one of the sources a generated answer draws on. So this list asks two things of each GEO tool: does it show which pages and sites the engines cited, and does it help you earn those citations? 19 tools, every fact linked to the vendor's own page with the day we read it.
Which GEO tools show the sources AI cites?
The bold line on each entry is quoted from that tool's sourced row; the fit line is our read. A tool appears in the second group because its row leads with something else, not because it has no source data.
GEO tools that lead with sources and citations
Peec AI
AI search analytics for marketing teams and agencies: visibility, position, sentiment and sources.
Best fit if: you want to read source and citation data in depth and pick your own 3 engines per plan.
Ahrefs Brand Radar
Finds the pages AI cites and mention opportunities
Best fit if: you want the pages AI cites across a market, drawn from a large prompt database, without writing prompts.
SE Ranking
SEO suite with an AI Search toolkit that tracks brand mentions and citations in AI answers.
Best fit if: you want mention and citation tracking beside rank tracking in one SEO tool, with a no-card trial.
Rankscale
Credit-based AI search visibility tracker with brand dashboards, citations, sentiment and query fan-out analysis.
Best fit if: you want citations and query fan-out analysis per brand, with the cadence set per search term.
Siftly
GEO blog posts (8 a month on Starter), citation outreach campaigns, Reddit and social distribution
Best fit if: you want outreach and distribution aimed at earning citations, on top of tracking.
AthenaHQ
AI search platform for tracking and acting on visibility, with content and citation agents.
Best fit if: you want citation and content agents with 11 engines on a self-serve plan.
Knowatoa
AI search visibility monitoring with competitor gaps, cited sites and sentiment alerts.
Best fit if: you want cited sites and competitor gaps across several sites on one account.
GEO tools that lead with tracking, content or agents
Profound
Enterprise AI search platform with answer engine insights, agent analytics and an AI Marketer agent.
Best fit if: you want the widest engine panel on Enterprise and AI traffic attribution through your CDN.
Otterly.AI
Self-serve AI search monitoring for ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Copilot, with GEO audits.
Best fit if: you want daily tracking on four engines and GEO audits at the lowest month-to-month entry price on our hub list.
Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit
AI visibility add-on to the Semrush SEO suite: brand performance, prompt tracking and an AI search site audit.
Best fit if: your GEO work sits beside SEO work you already do in Semrush.
Scrunch
AI search monitoring plus an Agent Experience Platform that serves AI agents an optimized version of your site.
Best fit if: you want to shape what AI agents read on your site, the raw material of every citation.
Writesonic
AI search visibility platform with SEO and content tools: tracking, AI articles, site audits and agentic workflows.
Best fit if: you want GEO tracking and content production in one tool.
AIclicks
AI search visibility tracker with an AI agent and AI-optimized articles.
Best fit if: you want to choose your engines at a published price and get AI-optimized articles.
ZipTie
Usage-based AI search tracker: you pay per prompt and engine, with unlimited seats and projects.
Best fit if: you track many projects lightly and want to pay per prompt and engine.
Promptwatch
Self-serve AI search tracking with content production: agent credits, content gap analysis and AEO articles.
Best fit if: you want daily tracking with content gap analysis across several projects.
And Proofsource, on the same facts
Proofsource
Each gap names the pages the engine cited instead and comes with a draft held for your approval
Best fit if: you want each lost question tied to the pages the engines cited instead, with a 95% interval on every number.
How we grouped: by what each vendor's own pricing or product page, read on and , says about sources and citations. Within each group, tools appear in the order AI engines named them. Proofsource makes this list and includes itself on the same facts.
How do the GEO tools compare on price, engines, cadence and fixes?
16 tools from our hub list, the same four facts for each, including ours. "Not published" means the vendor's public pages did not say.
| Tool | Price to start | Engines covered | How often | Fixes, content and outreach |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peec AIsource | $95/mo Starter (50 prompts, 3 models); Pro $245/mo (150); Advanced $495/mo (350) | Choose 3 per plan from ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini and Naver AI; Perplexity as an extra model; up to 13 models including Claude on Enterprise | Daily (daily or weekly on Enterprise) | Gap analysis, ranked recommended actions and agent actions |
| Ahrefs Brand Radarsource | Brand Radar AI from $199/mo; custom prompt packages from $50/mo; Ahrefs plans from $129/mo include 5 to 20 tracked AI prompts | Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity and Copilot; Claude available on the AI Visibility Index | Custom prompts refreshed daily | Finds the pages AI cites and mention opportunities |
| SE Rankingsource | Core $129/mo (100 prompts tracked daily); AI Search add-on +$89/mo | Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity and Gemini | Daily | Not published |
| Rankscalesource | Pro $99/mo (1,200 credits, 10 brand dashboards); Pro+ $229; Growth $385; Enterprise $780; Essentials from $17/mo, billed yearly | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Gemini, DeepSeek, Mistral, Claude and Microsoft Copilot from Pro | You choose per search term: hourly, daily, weekly or monthly | Rankscale Scout recommendations and page audits (50 a month on Pro) |
| Siftlysource | Free plan; Starter $79/mo (50 prompts); Growth $249/mo; Scale $599/mo; Enterprise custom | 2 on Free (ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews), 3 on Starter (adds Perplexity), 5 on Growth, 8 on Scale; Claude only on Enterprise | Daily on paid plans; weekly on Free | GEO blog posts (8 a month on Starter), citation outreach campaigns, Reddit and social distribution |
| AthenaHQsource | Essential free ($25 credit, 300 credits); Starter $295/mo (3,600 credits, 1 credit = 1 AI response); Enterprise custom | Essential: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot. Starter: 11, adding Google AI Mode, Claude, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral | Not published | On-page and off-page actions and a content optimization agent; a recommendation engine on Enterprise |
| Knowatoasource | Starter $59/mo; Growth $199/mo; Enterprise custom | Starter: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews and AI Mode. Growth and Enterprise: all 7, adding Claude, Gemini, Meta AI and Perplexity | Appearance tracked every week, with a weekly digest; its pricing FAQ argues for daily updates | Not published |
| Profoundsource | Free trial, then Enterprise at a custom price through a demo | Up to 9 on Enterprise: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek, Claude, Google AI Overviews, Exa Search | Daily | AI Marketer agent, Opportunities, reusable Agents and Profound Sheets |
| Otterly.AIsource | $29/mo Lite (15 prompts); Standard $189/mo (100); Premium $489/mo (400) | ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and Microsoft Copilot on every plan; Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini as paid add-ons | Daily | Recommendations (3 a week on Lite) and GEO audits (1,000 a month on Lite) |
| Semrush AI Visibility Toolkitsource | $99/mo per user (25 tracked prompts, 1 domain); 50 more prompts for $60/mo | ChatGPT and Google AI Mode are named in Semrush's knowledge base; the full list is not published there | Prompt tracking and visibility reports daily; Brand Performance weekly | AI-generated strategic recommendations |
| Scrunchsource | $250/mo Core (125 prompts, 5,000 responses a month, 4 LLMs) | Core: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Copilot. Enterprise: 9, adding Claude, Gemini, Meta AI, Google AI Mode and Grok | Not published (5,000 responses a month on Core) | Insights and recommendations, 1 page optimization a month on Core, content generation |
| Writesonicsource | Starter $79/mo billed annually (50 prompts); Basic $199/mo; Growth $399/mo; Enterprise custom | ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews on Starter, Basic and Growth; all 10 platforms, including Perplexity and Claude, on Enterprise | Daily | AI articles (15 a month on Starter), site audits, Action Center (full on Enterprise) and agentic workflows |
| AIclickssource | Starter $59/mo (30 prompts, 3 models); Pro $189/mo (150, 4 models); Business $499/mo (300, 6 models); Enterprise custom | Choose 3 models on Starter, 4 on Pro, 6 on Business, all on Enterprise, from ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Claude, Microsoft Copilot, Google AI Mode, Grok, Meta, DeepSeek and Mistral | Daily | Clicky AI Agent and AI-optimized articles (5 a month on Starter) |
| ZipTiesource | Usage-based, about $0.01 per prompt check per engine; presets from $42.75/mo | ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Microsoft Copilot, Bing AI Overview and Gemini | Daily, weekly or monthly, set per project | Content Generation add-on: briefs and pieces with footnote citations |
| Promptwatchsource | Essential $95/mo (50 prompts, 1 project); Professional $245/mo (150, 2); Business $579/mo (350, 5) | 4 models per plan, chosen from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Claude, Gemini, Meta Llama, DeepSeek and Grok | Daily on every plan | Agent credits, content gap analysis and AEO articles (5 a month on Professional, 10 on Business) |
| Proofsource | Free trial; then plans from $9 a month (5 questions on ChatGPT, weekly), at self-serve checkout | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude and Google AI Overviews in the trial and in every plan's default four. Each is priced per question. Google AI Mode, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek and Meta AI are enabled on a call or on Managed. | Daily or weekly, chosen per plan; the trial runs 2 scans about a day apart | Each gap names the pages the engine cited instead and comes with a draft held for your approval |
Why do sources matter more than mentions in GEO?
A mention tells you that you were named. A source tells you why. Each engine builds its answer from somewhere, and the place differs:
- Perplexity searches the web for every answer and lists numbered citations.
- Google AI Overviews are built from pages in Google's search index.
- ChatGPT and Claude answer from training by default, and fetch pages when they search.
When a competitor is named and you are not, the cited pages are the evidence: a review site you are missing from, a comparison that leaves you out, a page of yours the engine never read. That list is what a GEO plan works from. See how Proofsource shows citations, what citation share measures, and who gets cited next to you.
Which other GEO tools show citations?
Three more tools whose own pages describe source or citation data, from our sourced compare pages.
| Tool | Sources and actions | How a number is measured | AI engines covered | Price | Best fit if (our read) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Similarwebsource | Citation analysis with the exact links, sentiment by topic, AI referral traffic, and an AI SEO agent that drafts an SEO strategy | AI Brand Visibility is the percentage of analyzed AI responses that mention your brand | Not stated for brand visibility; its AI traffic trackers name ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, AI Mode, Claude, Grok and DeepSeek | $99 for AEO Intelligence (1 user, 150 tracked prompts, 3 months of history); $333 and $542 tiers add SEO, competitive and ad intelligence; billing period not stated | you want citation analysis with the exact links next to AI referral traffic and market data. Proofsource vs Similarweb |
| Brand24source | GEO recommendations, plus the citing sources and topics LLMs connect to your brand | Runs the prompts you define across LLMs and reports average position, brand score and share of voice | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, DeepSeek, Grok and Copilot | Plans from $249 a month (Individual), $199 a month billed annually; AI Visibility is an add-on on every plan, price not published | you want AI visibility as an add-on to Brand24's plans, with the sources LLMs connect to your brand. Proofsource vs Brand24 |
| Frasesource | AI Visibility monitors and alerts but does not auto-fix; the content side writes 10 to 100 articles a month by plan and publishes them | No confidence figure published; a weekly benchmark compares your citation rate with your industry median per engine | ChatGPT and Google AI on Starter; Perplexity added on Professional; Claude and Gemini added on Scale | Starter $49/mo ($39 billed yearly), Professional $129/mo ($103), Scale $299/mo ($239); Enterprise is custom | you want a weekly benchmark of your citation rate against your industry, inside a content platform. Proofsource vs Frase |
Where is Proofsource weaker for GEO?
- Sources for your questions, not a whole market. Proofsource reports the pages cited for the buyer questions you track. Ahrefs Brand Radar shows the pages AI cites across a database of hundreds of millions of prompts.
- 4 engines at self-serve checkout. Google AI Mode, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek and Meta AI are enabled on a call (Book a demo) or on Managed.
- Repeat tracking is a paid feature. The trial runs 2 scans; paid plans run daily or weekly, while Siftly offers a free plan with weekly tracking.
Where it is stronger: each gap names the pages the engine cited instead, every percentage carries a 95% Wilson interval, and the trial shows both on your own brand. Daily or weekly, chosen per plan; the trial runs 2 scans about a day apart.
What buyers ask about GEO tools
What is the best GEO tool?
It depends on what you want to do with the sources. Peec AI is built for reading source and citation data in depth, Ahrefs Brand Radar for seeing the pages AI cites across a market, Siftly for outreach aimed at earning citations, and Similarweb for citation links beside traffic data. Proofsource ties each lost question to the pages the engines cited instead and drafts the fix.
Is GEO the same as AEO?
In practice, yes. GEO, generative engine optimization, comes from a 2023 research paper; AEO, answer engine optimization, is the name more common in marketing. The AEO tools list groups the same tools by what they do after finding a gap; this one groups them by what they show about sources.
Which GEO tools track citations?
On the rows we read: Peec AI (sources and citation data), Ahrefs Brand Radar (the pages AI cites), SE Ranking (mentions and citations), Rankscale (citations and query fan-out), Knowatoa (cited sites), AthenaHQ (citation agents), Similarweb (citation analysis with the exact links), Brand24 (the citing sources LLMs connect to your brand) and Frase (a weekly citation rate benchmark). Proofsource names the pages cited instead of you for every gap.
How often should a GEO tool check the answers?
Often enough to tell a trend from noise. In our own sampling, answer sets move 9 to 27% day over day, so a single weekly read can miss a change or invent one. Most tools here run daily; Rankscale and ZipTie let you set the cadence. Proofsource runs daily or weekly, chosen per plan, and puts a 95% interval on every percentage.
Can I try a GEO tool for free?
Yes. Siftly and AthenaHQ have free plans, and several others offer trials. Proofsource starts with 2 days of full AI visibility, no card: 25 buyer questions on ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude and Google AI Overviews, with the cited pages behind every gap.
- Peec AI pricing peec.ai/pricing, read Oct 4, 2026 and Oct 5, 2026
- Ahrefs pricing ahrefs.com/pricing · Ahrefs Brand Radar ahrefs.com/brand-radar, read Oct 4, 2026 and Oct 5, 2026
- SE Ranking pricing seranking.com/pricing.html · SE Ranking AI visibility tracker seranking.com/ai-visibility-tracker.html, read Oct 4, 2026 and Oct 5, 2026
- Rankscale pricing rankscale.ai/pricing, read Oct 5, 2026
- Siftly pricing siftly.ai/pricing, read Oct 5, 2026
- AthenaHQ pricing www.athenahq.ai/pricing, read Oct 5, 2026
- Knowatoa pricing knowatoa.com/pricing · Knowatoa homepage knowatoa.com/, read Oct 5, 2026
- Profound pricing www.tryprofound.com/pricing, read Oct 4, 2026 and Oct 5, 2026
- Otterly.AI pricing otterly.ai/pricing, read Oct 4, 2026 and Oct 5, 2026
- Semrush KB: AI Visibility Toolkit www.semrush.com/kb/1493-ai-toolkit, read Oct 4, 2026 and Oct 5, 2026
- Scrunch pricing scrunch.com/pricing, read Oct 4, 2026 and Oct 5, 2026
- Writesonic pricing writesonic.com/pricing, read Oct 5, 2026
- AIclicks pricing aiclicks.io/pricing, read Oct 5, 2026
- ZipTie pricing ziptie.ai/pricing/, read Oct 5, 2026
- Promptwatch pricing www.promptwatch.com/pricing, read Oct 5, 2026
Each vendor's own pricing or product page, read on the date shown. Proofsource's facts render from its own pricing source. Spot an error? Write to hello@proofsource.co and we will correct it.
- Similarweb AI Search Intelligence: features, plans and FAQ aisearch.similarweb.com/, read Oct 5, 2026
- Brand24 AI Visibility (Chatbeat) brand24.com/ai-visibility/, read Oct 5, 2026 · Brand24 pricing and plan comparison brand24.com/prices/, read Oct 5, 2026
- Frase pricing www.frase.io/pricing, read Oct 5, 2026 · Frase AI Visibility feature www.frase.io/features/ai-visibility, read Oct 5, 2026
See the pages AI cites instead of yours.
See which buyer questions name your brand, who gets named instead, and what to fix. 200 answers. 25 Prompts/Question. Top AI engines. 2 days. Free. No card.